The Baker-Zachary Alumnae Chapter (BZA) was chartered on March 12, 1995 to serve Baker, Zachary, East Feliciana and West Feliciana Parishes in Louisiana.



Welcome to the official website of the Baker-Zachary Alumnae Chapter of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Incorporated. I am honored and privileged to serve as the president of the Baker-Zachary Alumnae Chapter and encourage you to have a look around our site to learn more about our programs and initiatives.

If you are a Soror looking for a chapter home, we invite you to join us as we work towards the goals of our beloved sorority. We are grateful that you have taken the time to learn about our chapter and encourage you to check back often for information about future projects and programs.

Malissa Headshot

Malissa Drake, BZA Chapter President



Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Incorporated is an organization of college educated women committed to the constructive development of its members and to public service with a primary focus on the Black community.

The organization is a sisterhood of predominantly Black, college educated women. The sorority currently has 1,000 collegiate and alumnae chapters located in the United States, England, Japan (Tokyo and Okinawa), Germany, the Virgin Islands, Bermuda, the Bahamas, Jamaica and the Republic of Korea.

For more information, visit our national website at www.deltasigmatheta.org

  • Founders of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc.

    Osceola Macarthy Adams

    Marguerite Young Alexander

    Winona Cargile Alexander

    Ethel Cuff Black

    Bertha Pitts Campbell

    Zephyr Chisom Carter

    Edna Brown Coleman

    Jessie McGuire Dent

    Frederica Chase Dodd

    Myra Davis Hemmings

    Olive Claire Jones

    Jimmie Bugg Middleton

    Pauline Oberdorfer Minor

    Vashti Turley Murphy

    Naomi Sewell Richardson

    Mammie Reddy Rose

    Eliza Pearl Shippen

    Florence Letcher Toms

    Ethel Carr Watson

    Wertie Blackwell Weaver

    Madree Penn White

    Edith Motte Young



The Baker-Zachary Alumnae Chapter was chartered on March 12, 1995 to serve Baker, Zachary, East Feliciana and West Feliciana Parishes in Louisiana and is located in the Southwest Region of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc. Its members are committed to serve and empower each person through the chapter’s innovative programs and projects implemented through Delta Sigma Theta Sorority’s Five-Point Thrust: Economic Development, Educational DevelopmentInternational Awareness & InvolvementPhysical & Mental Health, and Political Awareness & Involvement.

Please visit the Southwest Region’s website at www.dstswregion.org

  • Charter Members of the Baker-Zachary Alumnae Chapter

    Gladys Wilson Crayton

    Velta Jones Cross

    Mazie Ledoux Doomes

    Trini Stovall Gibson

    Alma Whitley Knighten

    Thelma Wethers McDonald

    Mada Yvonne McDonald

    Bertha Thomas Morgan

    Traci Morgan

    Gladys Steptoe Paul

    Helen Johnson Watson

    Bernice Whitley


Malissa Drake, President
Etta Harris, Vice-President
Kim Knight, Recording Secretary
Daronda Parker-Lathan, Corresponding Secretary
Chandra Carr, Financial Secretary
Tiffany Franklin, Assistant Financial Secretary
Angelle Jenkins, Treasurer
Renita Marshall, Chaplain
Sherwanda Goodman-Johnson, Sergeant-At-Arms
Kim Knight, Custodian
Lakesha Gilmore, Internal Audit Chair
Vennetta Hayes, Immediate Past President